Colorado Springs Theft Crime Lawyer
According to the Colorado Auto Theft Intelligence Coordination Center,
9,311 motor vehicle thefts were reported by law enforcement agencies in
Colorado in 2011 alone. The FBI estimates that an average value of $6,152
is lost every time a vehicle is stolen, and this amounts to a loss of
$57.3 million throughout the United States for 2011. This is one of the
main reasons why law enforcement agencies in Colorado Springs have been
aggressively investigating auto thefts and potential offenders.
National Insurance Crime Bureau has compiled a list of the top ten stolen vehicles in 2011 in Colorado.
The 1995 Honda Accord, 1998 Honda Civic and 1999 Ford Pick-Up topped the
list. Other vehicles on the list were the 2000 Jeep Cherokee, 1995 Acura
Integra and 2001 Dodge Pick-Up. Statistics from 2011 also show that the
Colorado Springs area has an auto theft rate of 214.74 per 100,000 people.
Overall, a majority of vehicles stolen in Colorado were passenger cars
(47%), followed by SUV's (18%) and pickups (13%). In order to cut
down on the number of auto thefts in the state, the Colorado Auto Theft
Prevention Authority (CATPA) was created. This organization awards state
grants to fund law enforcement, prosecution, training and public awareness
activities that involve auto theft prevention.
As a result, those who are accused of auto theft are automatically at a
disadvantage. With multiple organizations and law enforcement agencies
working against you to convict you, it is vital that you seek help from
an aggressive Colorado Springs defense attorney who can stand up for your
rights. Here at The Samuelson Law Firm, you will find 24/7 help to all
of your questions and legal concerns.
Penalties for Auto Theft
The penalties for auto theft are outlined in Colorado Revised Statutes
§18-4-409, Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft. This crime can be charged
as a first degree or second degree crime, based on the circumstances involved.
A person will be charged with first-degree Aggravated Theft of a Motor
Vehicle if they have knowingly obtained control over a motor vehicle without
authorization or by threat and deception.
According to Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-409,
Aggravated motor vehicle theft in the first degree is a:
(a) Class 4 felony if the value of the motor vehicle or motor vehicles
involved is fifteen twenty thousand dollars or less;
(b) Class 3 felony if the value of the motor vehicle or motor vehicles
involved is more than fifteen twenty thousand dollars or if the defendant
has twice previously been convicted or adjudicated of charges separately
brought and tried either in this state or elsewhere of an offense involving
theft of a motor vehicle under the laws of this state, any other state,
the United States, or any territory subject to the jurisdiction of the
Aggravated motor vehicle theft in the second degree if he or she knowingly obtains or exercises control over the motor vehicle
of another without authorization or by threat or deception and if none
of the aggravating factors in subsection (2) of this section are present.
Aggravated motor vehicle theft in the second degree is a:
(a) Class 5 felony if the value of the motor vehicle or motor vehicles
involved is fifteen twenty thousand dollars or more;
(b) Class 6 felony if the value of the motor vehicle or motor vehicles
involved is five hundred one thousand dollars or more but less than fifteen
twenty thousand dollars;
(c) Class 2 Class 1 misdemeanor if the value of the motor vehicle or motor
vehicles involved is less than five hundred one thousand dollars.
Being charged with first-degree Aggravated Theft of a Motor Vehicle is
a very serious matter. If the value of the motor vehicle is less than
$20,000, then you will be charged with a Class 4 felony with a possible
sentence of 2 – 6 years in prison. This comes with a mandatory parole
term of three years following release. If the value of the motor vehicle
is more than $20,000, you will be charged with a Class 3 felony with a
maximum sentence of 12 years in prison, followed by a mandatory parole
term of 5 years following release from prison.
The penalties for a second-degree Aggravated Theft of a Motor are slightly
less severe, but they will still have a lasting impact on your life. In
order to avoid a conviction, it is necessary to build a strong defense
that challenges the evidence brought against you. My law firm is well-equipped
to take on these cases, so call today and learn more about how to protect
your rights under the law. I have achieved a rating of AV® Preeminent™
by Martindale-Hubbell®, an industry-recognized facilitator of peer
review ratings, and I make work tirelessly to ensure that my clients'
rights are fully protected. When you choose to work with my skilled team,
we will go above and beyond to have the
theft charges brought against your reduced or dismissed altogether.