Information on DUI Penalties in CO
Protect Your Rights With The Samuelson Law Firm
If you have been arrested for DUI, one of the first things you probably want to know is what penalties you will face if you are convicted. There is no easy answer to this question, as there are many numerous factors that contribute to determining the penalties for each individual convicted of DUI. The best thing you can do to minimize your potential penalties is to build a strong defense case that addresses the specific charges brought against you.
If you are convicted, your penalty will be determined by the circumstances of your arrest. If you are a repeat offender or if you had a severely high BAC as determined by a blood or breath test, you will be submitted to harsher penalties. If anyone was injured or killed in a car accident that led to your arrest, your penalties will be harsher, and you may end up being charged with
vehicular manslaughter as well.
A first-time DUI conviction in Colorado may subject you to the following punishments:
- Nine month driver's license suspension
- Five days up to one year in jail
- Vehicle impoundment
- Rehab or alcohol counseling
- Public Service – from 48 to 96 hours
- Monetary fines up to $1,000
However, if you have been arrested and convicted for additional drunk driving charges, then the penalties will be significantly harsher. Considering that there is no lookback period in Colorado, any drunk driving arrest remains on your driving record forever.
For multiple DUI arrests, you may be facing:
- Up to one year in jail
- $1,500 in fines
- Up to two years' license suspension
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- 112 hours of community service
With so much on the line, it is extremely important that anyone facing these charges take the appropriate steps in their aggressive defense. This is when our Colorado Springs DUI defense is here to help.
Hiring the Right Attorney for Your DUI Case
If you are arrested for DUI, you should seriously consider fighting your charges and contacting The Samuelson Law Firm. Colorado recently modified the amount of time that an offender is required to stay in jail for a DUI conviction, and there is now a 10-day minimum jail term for a second DUI offense and greater jail terms for third and fourth offenses. When it comes to hiring a DUI defense attorney, I have the experience you are looking for. With over 15 years of experience in criminal defense, I will aggressively fight to have your DUI charges reduced or overturned. My boutique law firm has a knowledgeable staff to do research and bring new information to your case, and I will do everything in my power when defending you to prove your innocence.
Contact The Samuelson Law Firm today to take the first step towards fighting your charges!