Gun Violations in Colorado Springs
Guidance from Our Colorado Springs Criminal Defense Lawyer
Compared to other states in this country, the gun laws in Colorado are
favorable towards individuals who own and would like to carry firearms.
Despite Colorado's relaxed stance on guns, there are still many state
and local laws that exist to regulate the use, possession, and ownership
The Samuelson Law Firm we have a firm grasp on the various local and statewide gun laws. If you
have been charged with a gun or weapon violation, my firm will be able
to represent your interests and defend you against the impact of a gun
Weapon Violations in Colorado Springs
In Colorado, there are a number of weapons that are illegal to own. These
dangerous weapons include silencers, machine guns, shotguns shorter than
18 inches, rifles shorter than 16 inches, and ballistic knives. If you
are caught with one of these weapons, you will be charged with a Class
5 felony and face a one- to three-year prison sentence and two years of
mandatory parole. Gas guns, blackjacks, metal or brass knuckles, gravity
knives, and switchblades are considered illegal in Colorado. Possession
of one of these weapons is a Class 1 misdemeanor with a $500-$5,000 fine
and a possible sentence of 6 to 18 months.
You do not need a permit to purchase rifles, shotguns or handguns in Colorado,
but dealers must keep detailed records of the sale, rental or exchange
of handguns. These record books are available at all times to the inspection
of an authorized police officer, and they typically contain information
about the name, age, occupation, and residence of the gun buyer. It is
unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to possess a handgun and it
is also a crime to provide a handgun for a juvenile unless one of the
following circumstances is involved:
- You are attending a hunter's safety course or firearms safety course
- You are engaged in lawful hunting, trapping or target shooting with a valid license
- You are traveling with an unloaded handgun to or from any of these activities
It is important to know that carrying a concealed firearm is a criminal
offense in Colorado unless you have the proper permit. Though firing a
gun from a vehicle is decidedly illegal, carrying a gun in your car or
truck or storing a gun in a locked vehicle is entirely legal in some situations.
In certain circumstances, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit
is a Class 2 misdemeanor carrying a $250-$1,000 fine and a sentence of
3 – 12 months. Carrying a concealed weapon on school or government
property is a Class 6 felony with a minimum incarceration period of one year.
Individuals who are legal residents of Colorado, over the age of 21, and
demonstrate competency with a firearm can apply for a permit to carry
a concealed handgun. The Sheriff can deny the permit if he or she reasonably
believes that the applicant has shown chronic or habitual alcohol abuse,
or if the applicant will present a danger to self or others if the permit
is issued. Keep in mind that it is not necessary to have a permit in order
to carry a handgun where carrying firearms is legal so long as the handgun
is not concealed.
Fighting for Your Freedom
There are numerous gun laws that can catch you off-guard, and you may face
criminal charges for something that seems minor to you. It is unlawful
to have any firearm other than a handgun in or on any motor vehicle unless
the chamber is unloaded, and it is also unlawful to discharge a firearm
while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances. Whatever
offense you may be accused of violating, our firm has the experience and
dedication to help. The Samuelson Law firm is dedicated to providing clients
with the professional legal representation they need to face serious gun
and weapon violation accusations.
Contact The Samuelson Law Firm for the aggressive
criminal defense that you need to fight your charges.