Driver's License Point System in Colorado Springs
How Many Points Can You Have on a Colorado License?
The DMV uses a system in which each moving violation is assigned a specific
number of points in accordance with the severity of the offense. Once
you have accumulated a certain number of points, your license will be
suspended for a period lasting up to a full year.
The number of points necessary for a suspension include:
- A driver over the age of 21 is allowed to accumulate 12 points within a
single year, or 18 points over the course of 2 years.
- A driver younger than 18 may only accumulate 6 points in a single year
or 7 total points before reaching 18 years of age.
A list of common
traffic offenses and the points assigned to them is as follows:
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident – 12 points
- Speed Contests – 12 points
- Eluding, or Attempting to Elude, a Police Officer – 12 points
- Reckless Driving – 8 points
- Speeding 40 MPH or more over the limit – 12 points
- Speeding between 20 and 39 MPH over the limit – 6 points
- Speeding between 10 and 19 MPH over the limit – 4 points
- Speeding between 5 and 9 MPH over the limit – 1 point
- Failure to Maintain or Show Proof of Insurance – 4 points
- Improper Passing – 4 points
- Failure to Observe Traffic Sign or Signal – 4 points
- Failure to Signal or Improper Signal – 2 points
- Operating an Unsafe Vehicle – 2 points
Driving with a Suspended License in Colorado
It is nearly always in your best interests to fight any traffic ticket
which you receive. When you are cited for a traffic offense, you are ordered
to pay a hefty fine, and once you pay that fine, the Colorado Division
of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will report the fact of your conviction to your
insurance company, with the result that you can expect to see your rates
Fighting your traffic ticket is not, however, only about the money. In
addition to the costs of receiving a ticket, you also have to think about
the fact that you are now one step – or perhaps several steps –
closer to having your driver's license suspended by the DMV. Most
people tend to think of driving on the roads and highways of Colorado
Springs as a right, but it is actually a privilege and the DMV has the
power to suspend or revoke this privilege when a driver has demonstrated
that he or she is a safety risk. Failure to take action to fight your
ticket makes it almost certain that you will be convicted and will end
up accumulating points on your driving record, which can lead to an eventual
or immediate license suspension.
In the event that your license is suspended, you must avoid being caught
driving at all costs. If you are pulled over and discovered to be driving
while your license is suspended, you can be arrested, fined up to $500
and sent to jail for a minimum of 5 days. In addition, you could be given
an additional license suspension of up to one year. The most effective
way to prevent such a dire outcome is to avoid losing your license in
the first place. Your first step in doing so is to hire a Colorado Springs
criminal defense attorney who can represent you in court and fight to beat the ticket.
Contact the Samuelson Law Firm for your initial consultation to get the process started!