Hit & Run Accidents in CO
Work With A Colorado Springs DUI Attorney
Under Colorado law, if you were the driver of a vehicle directly involved in an accident that results in injury, "serious bodily injury" or death of any individual, you have specific duties that must be fulfilled. Failure to carry out these obligations can result in being charged with leaving the scene or hit and run and, in some cases, vehicular manslaughter. By "serious bodily injury" is meant one that causes substantial risk of death, permanent disfigurement, loss or impairment of a part of the body or an organ or any breaks, fractures or second or third degree burns. If you have been arrested for a hit and run, your first and best course of action is to immediately contact a well-versed Colorado Springs DUI attorney from The Samuelson Law Firm.
Protect your rights! Call our firm today to speak with an experienced attorney that is a member of the National College for DUI Defense. With knowledge on your side, your case is in good hands.
Penalties For A Colorado Springs Hit & Run
Leaving the scene of an accident, or a hit and run, is considered a serious crime in Colorado. Police officers work diligently to track down the offender and can use physical force if necessary to obtain a blood test to determine if a person was intoxicated. While leaving the scene crimes are severely punished, the penalties are enhanced if it is a
DUI connected offense. Our firm has successfully worked for 15 years to protect those involved in
DUI arrests and related offenses.
The exact crime you will be charged with and the harshness of the penalties for conviction will depend upon various factors. These include if you were driving while under the influence, the degree of intoxication, whether there was solely property damage, the seriousness of any injuries that were caused and if a fatality resulted from the incident.
In general, penalties can include:
- Heavy fines
- Driver's license suspension
It is important that you understand the penalties you face and the need for a hard-hitting defense on your behalf. You can be punished by $1,000 in fines and up to a year in jail if your accident involved property damage only. If your accident caused injury to another, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by $5,000 in fines and up to a year and a half of incarceration. An accident causing serious bodily injury is a Class 5 felony, resulting in one to three years of imprisonment and fines as high as a half of a million dollars. When the accident results in death, it is a Class 3 felony which is punishable by fines up to $750,000 and imprisonment from four to 12 years.
A Lawyer That Stands By Your Side
Hit and run and DUI are criminal offenses, no matter if you were the driver that caused the accident or not. Depending on the extent of injuries and whether a death resulted, fines can run into the hundreds of thousands of dollars and lengthy terms of imprisonment will be part of the penalties. Having a permanent criminal record and being incarcerated can have an extreme effect on your life and those of your loved ones. We want you to have, therefore, the most hard-hitting and proven defenses available in your battle against the charges.
You don't have to face the criminal justice system alone or with inexperienced legal representation. At The Samuelson Law Firm, we are a team that understands how stressful it is to face criminal charges and the consequences of conviction. Our firm stands ready to do whatever is necessary to obtain the best possible outcome to the charges against you and has the proven track record to do so.