Driver’s License Point SystemSuccess Comes From A Place of Strength & Experience
Driver's License Point System
in Colorado Springs
How Many Points Can You Have on a Colorado License?
The DMV uses a system in which each moving violation is assigned a specific number of points in accordance with the severity of the offense. Once you have accumulated a certain number of points, your license will be suspended for a period lasting up to a full year.
The number of points necessary for a suspension include:
- A driver over the age of 21 is allowed to accumulate 12 points within a single year, or 18 points over the course of 2 years.
- A driver younger than 18 may only accumulate 6 points in a single year or 7 total points before reaching 18 years of age.
A list of common traffic offenses and the points assigned to them is as follows:
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident – 12 points
- Speed Contests – 12 points
- Eluding, or Attempting to Elude, a Police Officer – 12 points
- Reckless Driving – 8 points
- Speeding 40 MPH or more over the limit – 12 points
- Speeding between 20 and 39 MPH over the limit – 6 points
- Speeding between 10 and 19 MPH over the limit – 4 points
- Speeding between 5 and 9 MPH over the limit – 1 point
- Failure to Maintain or Show Proof of Insurance – 4 points
- Improper Passing – 4 points
- Failure to Observe Traffic Sign or Signal – 4 points
- Failure to Signal or Improper Signal – 2 points
- Operating an Unsafe Vehicle – 2 points
Driving with a Suspended License in Colorado
It is nearly always in your best interests to fight any traffic ticket which you receive. When you are cited for a traffic offense, you are ordered to pay a hefty fine, and once you pay that fine, the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will report the fact of your conviction to your insurance company, with the result that you can expect to see your rates increase sharply.
Fighting your traffic ticket is not, however, only about the money. In addition to the costs of receiving a ticket, you also have to think about the fact that you are now one step – or perhaps several steps – closer to having your driver's license suspended by the DMV. Most people tend to think of driving on the roads and highways of Colorado Springs as a right, but it is actually a privilege and the DMV has the power to suspend or revoke this privilege when a driver has demonstrated that he or she is a safety risk. Failure to take action to fight your ticket makes it almost certain that you will be convicted and will end up accumulating points on your driving record, which can lead to an eventual or immediate license suspension.
In the event that your license is suspended, you must avoid being caught driving at all costs. If you are pulled over and discovered to be driving while your license is suspended, you can be arrested, fined up to $500 and sent to jail for a minimum of 5 days. In addition, you could be given an additional license suspension of up to one year. The most effective way to prevent such a dire outcome is to avoid losing your license in the first place. Your first step in doing so is to hire a Colorado Springs criminal defense attorney who can represent you in court and fight to beat the ticket.
Contact the Samuelson Law Firm for your initial consultation to get the process started!
At Samuelson Law Firm, PLLC, we strive to provide the best possible representation, by putting the needs of our clients first. Read our reviews from past clients to hear more about their experience with our firm.
“Mr. Samuelson was dedicated to bringing my problem to a quick and positive end.”- Anonymous
“Outstanding man and lawyer!”- Jason Mcdonald
“I highly recommend Chris Samuelson at the Samuelson Law Firm”- Anonymous
“Thank you for all of your help.”- James R.
“Thank You!”- Previous Client
Dedicated and Helpful Team Members
Proudly Serving Clients Statewide
Adaptive & Technologically Advanced
Passionate Advocacy, Inside and Outside of Court
Spanish Speaking Services
Personalized Legal Strategies
Our team is available 24/7 to help you in your time of need.